

NORTH YORKSHIRE HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD - 23 NOVEMBER 2018

Report of the Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services)

North Yorkshire Health and Wellbeing Board – Membership

1. Purpose of Report

- 1.1 To seek the Board's approval to its membership being extended to include, as a Co-opted Member, one representative from the Emergency Services.
- 1.2 To clarify the tenure of the Members of the Board

2. Background

- 2.1 The North Yorkshire Health and Wellbeing Board is a statutory body which brings together leaders across the NHS, local government and wider partners to focus on key health and wellbeing issues. The Board has nineteen Members.
- 2.2 Given the size of the County, and the number of potential participants, the Board comprises representative categories of membership, in addition to the prescribed statutory membership. For example, there is currently one Chief Executive representing the four main Acute and Community Hospital Trusts in the Board's area; one Chief Executive representing our two Mental Health Trusts; a representative elected by the Voluntary and Community Sector; and two representatives from across the seven Borough and District Councils.
- 2.3 At present, there is no representation from the Emergency Services. It is suggested that the Board would benefit from extending its membership by one representative from this area.
- 2.4 The Chief Officers of the Police, Fire and Rescue Service and Ambulance Service have been advised that this matter is being considered at today's meeting and they have been asked who they would wish to represent the Emergency Services and who would be the nominated substitute in the event that the Board decide to extend its membership.
- 2.5 The Chief Officers have agreed that, subject to approval by the Board, they would wish Andrew Pippin, Sector Commander for Hull and East, at Yorkshire Ambulance Service (YAS) to represent the Emergency Services with Lesley Butterworth, Group Station Manager at YAS, as his designated substitute.

2.6 The Board has previously decided that Co-opted Members should have voting rights. Therefore, should the Board agree to extend its membership, it is suggested that this be extended to newly-appointed Members. It should though be noted that, in reality, the Board operates by consensus and a formal vote is rarely taken.

3 Category of Membership and tenure for current Members of the Board

- 3.1 As mentioned at paragraph 2.2, above, the Board comprises a mix of Members who the Health and Social Care Act prescribes must be on the Board and who the Board has appointed the legislation enables Boards to appoint such other persons as it sees fit.
- 3.2 There is no set term of office for the statutory members. In effect, they remain Members whilst in post. For example, the Corporate Director of Health and Adult Services and the representatives of the CCGs.
- 3.6 For other Members, there is also no set term. It is suggested that this should be until the County Council elections in 2021. If the Board agrees with this suggestion, the Members concerned can, of course, be renominated by their organisation(s) at that time. This need not be a complicated process. Prior to the elections, I will contact the organisations concerned to ask if they wish their current representatives to continue.
- 3.7 Attached as an Appendix is a table containing the current membership of the Board, specifying whether they are statutory/non-statutory and information on who makes the nomination/appointment.

4 Recommendations

- 4.1 That the Board consider whether it wishes to extend its membership to include, as a Co-opted Member, with voting rights, one representative from the Emergency Services, subject to the approval of the County Council.
- 4.2 That, if the Board does agree to extend its membership, the representative from the Emergency Services be Andrew Pippin, Sector Commander for Hull and East, at YAS, with Lesley Butterworth, Group Station Manager at YAS as his designated substitute.
- 4.3 That the term of office for non-statutory Members be until the County Council elections in 2021.

Barry Khan Assistant Chief Executive (Legal and Democratic Services) November 2018

APPENDIX

NORTH YORKSHIRE HEALTH AND WELLBEING BOARD

NO.	REPRESENTATIVE/ORGANISATION	STATUTORY?	APPOINTED / NOMINATED BY
County Councillors (3)			
1	County Councillor Michael Harrison, Executive Member for Adult Social Care and	Yes	Leader of NYCC
	Health Integration		
2	County Councillor Caroline Dickinson, Executive Member for Public Health and	Yes	Leader of NYCC
	Prevention		
3	County Councillor Janet Sanderson, Executive Member for Children and Young	Yes	Leader of NYCC
	People's Services		
Elected Member District Council Representative (1)			
4	Councillor Richard Foster, Leader of Craven District Council	No	Leaders & Chief Executive's Group
Local Authority Officers (5)			
5	Richard Flinton, Chief Executive, NYCC	No	The Board decided it wished the Chief Executive to be a Member
6	Richard Webb, Corporate Director for Health and Adult Services, NYCC	Yes	N/A
7	Stuart Carlton, Corporate Director for Children and Young People's Services, NYCC	Yes	N/A
8	Lincoln Sargeant, Director of Public Health, NYCC	Yes	N/A
9	Janet Waggott, Chief Executive of Selby District Council and Assistant Chief	No	Leader & Chief Executive's Group
	Executive of NYCC – District Council Chief Executive Representative		
Clinical Commissioning Groups (5)			
10	Colin Renwick, Clinical Chair, NHS Airedale and Wharefedale CCG	Yes	The CCG
11	Janet Probert, Accountable Officer, NHS Hambleton, Richmondshire & Whitby CCG	Yes	The CCG
12	Amanda Bloor, Accountable Officer, NHS Harrogate and Rural District CCG	Yes	The CCG
13	Phil Mettam, Accountable Officer, NHS Vale of York CCG	Yes	The CCG
14	Simon Cox, Accountable Officer, NHS Scarborough and Ryedale CCG	Yes	The CCG
Other Members (3)			
15	Shaun Jones, Interim Head of Delivery, NHS England, Yorkshire & Humber	Yes	NHS England
16	Judith Bromfield, Chair of Healthwatch, North Yorkshire	Yes	Healthwatch North Yorkshire
17	Jill Quinn, Chief Executive of Dementia Forward (Voluntary Sector Representative)	No	Voluntary and Community Sector
Co-opted Members (2)			
18	Colin Martin, Chief Executive, Tees Esk & Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust	No	Mental Health Trusts
19	Ros Tolcher, Chief Executive, Harrogate District NHS Foundation Trust	No	Acute and Community Hospital Trusts